Better Than Coffee

I understand that I’m being extremely lazy by only posted stuff from youtube, but I figured that I’d put up some things that have kept me going over the years.  So the next time you feel yourself going down inside, take a look at these:

This first post is from Bob Dylan.  This was recorded back in 1963, when Woody Guthrie (Bob’s idol) was dying of Huntington’s Disease.

This next post is from Bobby Kennedy‘s funeral.  The speaker delivering the eulogy is Bobby’s younger brother, Teddy, but the speech was originally given by Bobby at the Annual Day of Affirmation at the University of Cape Town back in 1966.  Primarily because of this speech, RFK is still my favorite politician, and much more than that, he was simply “…a good and decent man, who saw wrong and tried to right it…”

And of course, I couldn’t find a post that was suitable enough to put on truefacts (although i did find this).   But I’ll just go ahead and copy and paste a transcription.  I’m not a big poetry reader; in fact, I don’t think I’ll ever be—it’s just not my cup of tea.  But I am, however, a ginormous fan of Robert Frost, specifically “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening”.  So, here it is…

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep

Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Well, I hope you enjoyed that…I sure did.  I’ve probably watched and read those numerous times, especially when I’ve found it hard to continue doing…well, whatever it is I’m doing.  So the next time you’re struggling, with anything, take a look at these and don’t forget how important you are to all of us.

Leave a Reply

